Iowa Edge

2015 Iowa Edge Peer Leaders

Sunday, August 14 - Wednesday, August 17, 2016

The University of Iowa is an exciting place—full of academic, cultural, and social opportunities. Yet, attending a large university can be overwhelming and a little intimidating.

Many students have found that programs like The Iowa Edge eased their concerns and ensured a successful academic and social transition to the University of Iowa. The Iowa Edge is an exciting program for selected African American, Alaskan Native, American Indian, Asian American, Pacific Islander, Latino/a, and first-generation college students.

Participate in The Iowa Edge and:

  • Meet faculty and campus leaders who will support you during your college experience
  • Build community with a group of peers before the semester begins
  • Develop leadership skills for success in class, on campus, and in life

On the first day of class, you'll feel like a seasoned pro—your first step to becoming a University of Iowa graduate! Move in early at no charge; lodging, meals, and program expenses for all participants are paid by a grant from the Kevin and Donna Gruneich Charitable Foundation.

Building bridges via Iowa Edge

Advisory Board Members

Kyra Seay
Educational Services Support Assistant
Chief Diversity Office
319-384-3435
kyra-seay@uiowa.edu

Gabriela Rivera
Assistant Director, Diversity, Inclusion and Student Success
Henry B. Tippie College of Business Undergraduate Program Office
319-335-1037
gabriela-rivera@uiowa.edu

Richard Barajas
Director of Admissions
College of Pharmacy
319-335-8795
richard-barajas@uiowa.edu

Valerie Garr
Diversity Coordinator
College of Nursing
319-335-6548
valerie-garr@uiowa.edu

Sauvik Goswami
Senior Admission Counselor
Office of Admissions
319-335-0267
sauvik-goswami@uiowa.edu

Stacy Narcotta-Welp
Director, Career Leadership Academy
Career Center
319-335-1023
stacy-welp@uiowa.edu

Planning Committee Members

Alejandra (Alex) Almazan
Office of Student Financial Aid
alejandra-almazan@uiowa.edu

Carly Armour
Student Disability Services
carly-armour@uiowa.edu

Dominique Brooks
Center for Diversity and Enrichment
dominique-brooks@uiowa.edu 

Berrett Chestleigh
Graduate Research Assistant
berrett-chestleigh@uiowa.edu

Elia Farias
Center for Diversity and Enrichment
elia-farias@uiowa.edu

Dan Gall
Library Administration
daniel-gall@uiowa.edu

Monica Marcelo
University Housing and Dining
monica-marcelo@uiowa.edu

Katie Miller
Center for Diversity and Enrichment
kate-miller@uiowa.edu

Jeremy Mims
College of Education
jeremy-mims@uiowa.edu

Tyra Nelson
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
tyra-nelson@uiowa.edu

Tracy Peterson
College of Engineering
tracy-peterson@uiowa.edu

Beth Ripperger
Student Health and Wellness
elizabeth-ripperger@uiowa.edu

Meagan Schorr
​Womens Resource and Actions Center (WRAC)
meagan-schorr@uiowa.edu

Audrey Scranton
Graduate Teaching Assistant
audrey-scranton@uiowa.edu

Kristin Wurster
PhD student
kristin-wurster@uiowa.edu

Campus Partners

Lori Adams
Iowa Bioscience Advantage Program
lori-adams@uiowa.edu

Aubree Compton
Office of Study Abroad
aubree-compton@uiowa.edu

Jane Dorman
College of Engineering
jane-dorman@uiowa.edu

Mario Duarte
Academic Advising Center
​mario-duarte@uiowa.edu

Denise Martinez
College of Medicine
denise-martinez@uiowa.edu

Kathy Mossman
College of Education
katherine-mossman@uiowa.edu

Roy Salcedo
Center for Student Involvement and Leadership
roy-salcedo@uiowa.edu

Kelly Thornburg
Honors Program
kelly-thornburg@uiowa.edu

Peer Leaders

Peer Leaders are trained to provide a person-centered, community-centered orientation to university life the week before classes begin for students who face challenging issues of transition. Iowa Edge peer leaders directly address and positively impact these students’ rates of persistence, retention, and graduation.

If you have questions, please contact Kyra Seay at kyra-seay@uiowa.edu.

Associate Peer Leaders


Victor Diaz
Associate
Linguistics and Spanish (Teaching English as a Second Language)
Sioux City, Iowa


Daneissa Folker
Communication Studies (Spanish Minor)
Burlington, IA 

Peer Leaders

Mary
Mary
Art, Journalism and Mass Communication
West Liberty, Iowa


Anthony
Chemical Engineering
Des Moines, Iowa


Jose
Finance (International Business Certificate)
Wood Dale, Illinois


Brian
Human Physiology (Pre-Medicine)
Olmito, Texas


Lilian
Ethics and Public Policy
Des Moines, Iowa


Malik Salsberry
Business (Entrepreneurial Management Track)
Davenport, IA


Austin Hughes
English & Theater
San Antonio, TX


Samuel Pang
Psychology/ Public Health
Mount Pleasant, IA


Cristina Perez
Nursing Interest (Latina/o Studies Minor)
Sioux City, IA 


Ariana Smith
Management and Marketing
Lake View, IA 


Alantra Wright
Biology
Milwaukee, WI 

The Iowa Edge (TIE) Student Organization

The purpose of The Iowa Edge Student Organization is to provide year-round academic, social, and volunteer programming for all students; with a focus on student of color, first-generation students, and Iowa Edge alumni. It is a student organization created by Iowa Edge alumni with the ultimate aim of increasing both student retention, student diversity, and the quality of student life at the University of Iowa.

The goal of The Iowa Edge Student Organization will be to provide leadership opportunities and year-round programming for all Iowa Edge alumni and the multicultural community. The Iowa Edge Student Organization will aim to help foster community and student success among the overall community of color. Building from The Iowa Edge program, the organization will pursue continued growth at both the community and individual level through community building, diversity education, and student support.

The organization will provide enriching academic, social, and volunteer programming opportunities throughout the year that all students may take part or become active leaders in organizing; with the purpose of increasing both student retention, student diversity, and the quality of student life at the University of Iowa. This will be done for all students, with a particular focus on students of color, first-generation students, and specifically Iowa Edge alumni.

Student Officers

President: Brianna Nash
Vice President: Fidel Estrada
Treasurer: Samuel Pang
Secretary: Nana Yaa Wright
VP of Public Relations: Jasmine Renee Woolery
VP of Programming: Victor Ivan Diaz

Advisor: Gabriela Rivera

facebook button If you are interested in joining The Iowa Edge Student Organization, please join our group on Facebook.

Sponsors

The Iowa Edge is funded by the Kevin and Donna Gruneich Charitable Foundation.

The Iowa Edge is coordinated by a coalition of UI students, faculty, and staff. Individuals from the following academic programs and campus offices plan and implement The Iowa Edge.

Kevin Gruenich
Kevin Gruneich BBA 1980 Park City, Utah

“I am just beginning to return the investment others have made in me.”

Deadline

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Audience

K-12
Bridging Student
Community

How to Apply/Enroll

The Iowa Edge application will be available on May 17, 2016. Students will be notified of their selection after July 7, 2016.

Questions about applications can be directed to Kyra Seay at kyra-seay@uiowa.edu. Iowa Edge program questions can be directed to the Center for Diversity & Enrichment at 319-335-3555.

Please note: The Iowa Edge program occurs at the same time as Honors Primetime and as required practice time for the Hawkeye Marching Band. Due to significant time overlaps, it is not possible for students to participate in the Iowa Edge program if they are also participating in Honors Primetime or the Hawkeye Marching Band. If you decide to participate in either of those activities, please notify Kyra Seay (kyra-seay@uiowa.edu) as soon as possible so we can remove your application from the Iowa Edge program.