Distinguished Educator Award

Distinguished Educator Awardees are honored at the Center for Diversity and Enrichment Graduation Reception.

This award, established in 1995-96, is designed to recognize a faculty or staff member who has exemplified achievement in cultural diversity.  The award is in honor of Dr. Nancy “Rusty” Barceló, former Assistant Provost and Interim Director of Opportunity at Iowa.  Her commitment, dedication and desire to assist and promote diversity throughout her career at the University of Iowa have been truly inspirational.

Past Recipients

1997 Esther Materon-Arum
1998 Nancy Humbles
1999 William Welburn
2002 Roger Child
2003 Valerie Garr, College of Nursing
2005 Dr. Victor G. Rodgers, College of Engineering
2006 Dr. Larry Smith, Academic Advising Center
2006 Dr. Johnnie Sims, TRIO Support Services
2007 Carlos Serrato, Office of Student Life
2008 Dr. Vershawn Young, Rhetoric
2009 Dr. Susan A. Murty, School of Social Work
2010 Dr. Donald B. Yarbrough, College of Education
2011 Jodi Linley, Iowa Bioscience Advantage Program
2012 Dr. Carolyn Colvin, College of Education
2013 Kelly Collins, TRIO Student Support Services
2013 Collins Byrd, College of Law
2014 Motier Haskins, School of Social Work
2014 Dr. Tanya M. Uden-Holman, College of Public Health
2015 Tab Wiggins, Office of VP for Student Life
2016 Travis Arment, Center for Diversity and Enrichment 
2016 Jeremy Kinser, University Counseling Service
2017 Danielle Martinez, Academic Support and Retention
2017 Rossina Liu, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies
2018 Dr. Antentor Hinton, Department of Internal Medicine



Friday, March 29, 2019



How to Apply

Criteria for Selection:

Each year the Center for Diversity and Enrichment Graduation Reception Planning Committee extends an invitation to graduating students to nominate a UI staff or faculty for the award.  The Center for Diversity and Enrichment Graduation Reception Planning Committee will determine the criteria for this award each year.

Nomination Form Coming Soon!