Distinguished Educator Award

Distinguished Educator Awardees are honored at the Center for Diversity and Enrichment Graduation Reception.

This award, established in 1995-96, is designed to recognize a faculty or staff member who has exemplified achievement in cultural diversity.  The award is in honor of Dr. Nancy “Rusty” Barceló, former Assistant Provost and Interim Director of Opportunity at Iowa.  Her commitment, dedication and desire to assist and promote diversity throughout her career at the University of Iowa have been truly inspirational.


Distinguished Educator Award information

1997  Esther Materon-Arum

1998  Nancy Humbles

1999  William Welburn

2002  Roger Child

2003  Valerie Garr, College of Nursing

2005  Dr. Victor G. Rodgers, College of Engineering

2006  Dr. Larry Smith, Academic Advising Center

2006  Dr. Johnnie Sims, TRIO Support Services

2007  Carlos Serrato, Office of Student Life

2008  Dr. Vershawn Young, Rhetoric

2009  Dr. Susan A. Murty, School of Social Work

2010  Dr. Donald B. Yarbrough, College of Education

2011  Jodi Linley, Iowa Bioscience Advantage Program

2012  Dr. Carolyn Colvin, College of Education

2013  Kelly Collins, TRIO Student Support Services

2013  Collins Byrd, College of Law

2014  Motier Haskins, School of Social Work

2014  Dr. Tanya M. Uden-Holman, College of Public Health

2015  Tab Wiggins, Office of VP for Student Life

2016  Travis Arment, Center for Diversity and Enrichment 

2016  Jeremy Kinser, University Counseling Service

2017  Danielle Martinez, Academic Support and Retention

2017  Rossina Liu, Obermann Center for Advanced Studies

2018  Dr. Antentor Hinton, Department of Internal Medicine

The deadline to apply is Sunday, April 12th, 2020 at 11:59pm. Check the How to Apply tab below!

Any UI faculty/staff member is eligible to receive this award.

Criteria for Selection:

Each year the Center for Diversity and Enrichment Graduation Reception Planning Committee extends an invitation to graduating students to nominate a UI staff or faculty member for the award.  The Center for Diversity & Enrichment Graduation Reception Planning Committee will determine the criteria for this award each year.

Nomination Form: https://uiowa.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_dmrNKjAY6foWIAJ

Sarah Lambert
Academic Coach, Center for Diversity & Enrichment
2750 University Capitol Centre 200 S Capitol St Iowa City, IA 52242