Diversity Catalyst Award Recipients Announced

On behalf of the Chief Diversity Office, members of the University of Iowa community are invited to join us for the 17th annual Diversity Catalyst Awards Reception on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

This award honors the distinctive and innovative work of individuals, organizations, and departments at the University of Iowa who have gone above and beyond to promote an inclusive and diverse campus community.

This year, six individuals have been selected to receive this prestigious award:

Student Award 

Cindy Ann Kilgo
Doctoral Candidate, Educational Policy and Leadership Studies

Faculty/Staff Awards 

Lan Samantha Chang
Director, Iowa Writers’ Workshop

Jason Daniel-Ulloa, MPH PhD
Assistant Research Scientist, Department of Community and Behavioral Health

Dr. Michael D. Hill
Associate Professor, English and African American Studies

Tina L. Tootle, PhD
Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology

Distinguished Achievement Award

Valerie S. Garr, MA
Diversity and Supplemental Instruction Coordinator, College of Nursing

The Diversity Catalyst Award Reception will be held in conjunction with the Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr., Achievement Awards, which are given to selected rising seniors from Iowa’s three public universities.

This award recognizes academic achievement, leadership in campus and community organizations, and potential for future career success. The Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr., Achievement Award recipients are the following:

  • Isaac Oberlin, majoring in Finance and Economics at the University of Iowa
  • Raul Hernandez, majoring in Mechanical Engineering at Iowa State University
  • Daianera Whitaker, majoring in Financial Management and Business Economics at the University of Northern Iowa

The event, which is free and open to the public, will take place Thursday, April 28, from 3:15 to 5 p.m. in the Iowa Memorial Union 2nd floor Ballroom. A brief reception will be held prior to the celebration at 3 p.m.

Dr. Sherry Watt, associate professor in the College of Education and faculty fellow in the Chief Diversity Office, will deliver the keynote address.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact the Chief Diversity Office in advance at 319-353-2388 or 319-335-0697 (TDD) or via e-mail to diversity-awards@uiowa.edu.

ASL interpretation will be provided at the event.