Previous Catalyst Award Recipients

Individual Faculty/Staff Awards​

Aniruddha Dutta, Gender, Women's & Sexuality Studies and Asian & Slavic Languages and Literatures
Diane Finnerty, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
Jodi Graff, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, Carver College of Medicine
Michelle McQuistan, Preventative and Community Dentistry


Nkanyezi Ferguson, MD, clinical assistant professor, Department of Dermatology, Carver College of Medicine Barbara Baquero, PhD, MPH, assistant professor in Community and Behavioral Health, and deputy director of the UI Prevention Research Center, College of Public Health Tracy R. Peterson, director of Diversity and K-12 Outreach the College of Engineering

Gabby Blanchard, Police Officer, UI Public Safety Amy Lee, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics and Assistant Dean for Research, Carver College of Medicine Denise Martinez, M.D., Assistant Dean for Cultural Affairs and Diversity Initiatives, Carver College of Medicine Kirk Corey, Ph.D. and Todd M. Weissenberger, Information Technology Services

Lan Samantha Chang, M.F.A., Director, Iowa Writer’s Workshop Jason Daniel-Ulloa, MPH Ph.D., Assistant Research Scientist, Community and Behavioral Health, College of Public Health Michael Hill, Ph.D., Associate Professor, English and African American Studies, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Tina Tootle, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology, Carver College of Medicine

Jennifer Blair, Assistant Director for Global Community Engagement, Tippie College of Business Robin Clark-Bennett, Labor Educator, Labor Center Malik S. Henfield, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Program Coordinator, School Counseling and Counselor Education and Supervision, College of Education Jefri L. Palermo, Development Specialist, School of Social Work

Motier F. Haskins, MSW, Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work David M. Lubaroff, Ph.D., Associate Director, Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center and Professor, Departments of Urology and Microbiology

Brad M. Brunick, Psy.D., Staff Psychologist, University Counseling Service Jake Christensen, B.A., Senior Admission Counselor, Office of Admissions Katie Imborek, M.D., and Nicole L. Nisly, M.D., co-Directors, Iowa River Landing LGBTQ Clinic, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics Tonya Peeples, Ph.D., Professor, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering/Director, Ethnic Inclusion Effort for Iowa Engineering, University of Iowa College of Engineering

Michael Anderson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Genetics/Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, College of Medicine Daniel F. Eberl, Ph.D., Professor, Biology and Otolaryngology, and Director of the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Genetics, College of Medicine Patrick A. Dolan, Jr., Ph.D., Lecturer, Rhetoric Department

Kathryn Chaloner, Professor, Department of Biostatistics, College of Public Health

Thomas Weingeist, M.D., Ph.D., Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

John Achrazoglou, Director, Educational Technology Center, College of Education

Rachel Garza Carreon, Outreach, Recruitment & Research Librarian, University Libraries Kathleen Kemp, Program Administrator & Admissions Coordinator, School of Social Work

Judie Hermsen, Senior Assistant Director, University Human Resources Vanessa Shelton, Director, IHSPA/Summer Journalism Workshops, School of Journalism and Mass Communications

Carolyn Colvin, Associate Dean, College of Education Tess Judge-Ellis, Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Nursing

Victor Rodgers, Professor, College of Engineering

Diana Davies, Director, International Programs Adrienne Drapkin, Director, Medical Museum

Barbara Muller, Associate Professor, Internal Medicine, Carver College of Medicine Virginia Woodard, Office of Student Affairs and Curriculum, Carver College of Medicine

Akwasi Agyeman Boateng, Supervisor, Food and Nutrition Services, UI Hospitals and Clinics Eugene Madison, Professor, Department of Mathematics

Raul Curto, Executive Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Mickey Eliason, Associate Professor, College of Nursing

Billie Townsend, Liberal Arts and Sciences Administration

Individual Student Awards​

Taha Gesalla, Minority Association of Pre-medical Students (MAPS)

Lilián M. Sánchez Garcia, fourth-year undergraduate student and student body vice president, University of Iowa Student Government

Dawson Davenport, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Cindy Ann Kilgo, Ph.D., Higher Education and Student Affairs, College of Education

Tawanda Carson Owens, Ph.D., Afro American Cultural Center Manager

Michael Considine, Senior Airman, 185th Air National Guard in Sioux City, IA and President, University of Iowa Veterans’ Association Anthony Ferguson, Jr., Assistant District Director, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and President and Founder- Young, Black, and Educated

Sauvik Goswami, University of Iowa Student Government

Stef shuster, M.A., Sociology Kyla R. Djannie, College of Law and Darcelle A. Skeete, College of Law

Theodore J. Patton, College of Law

Jimmy Reyes, College of Nursing

Katie Imborek, Carver College of Medicine Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual orgainization MEDIQS

Amina Mahmood, Department of Psychological and Quantitative Foundation

Amber Keller, Carver College of Medicine

Department/Group Awards

Tippie Gateway and BizEdge, Henry B. Tippie College of Business

Hawkeye Accessibility Ambassador Program

Division of Student Life Multicultural Work Group

REACH: Realizing Educational and Career Hopes

Iowa Edge, Program Initiative Award Women's Resource and Action Center (WRAC)

Women in Science & Engineering (WISE) Graduate/Postdoctoral Workshop Series

Power Plant Diversity Task Force

Men in Nursing Task Force, College of Nursing

Philip G. Hubbard Law School Preparation Program

Iowa Biosciences Advantage Program School of Social Work

Department of Theatre Arts

Graduate College

Department of Mathematics

Student Organization Awards​

Engineers Without Borders

Partners for Success, Carver College of Medicine Student National Medical Association (SNMA) Mentoring Program

UI Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Allied Union (GLBTAU)

Indian Cultural Association

Distinguished Catalyst Award Recognition

Valerie S. Garr, Diversity and Supplemental Instruction Coordinator, College of Nursing

Leonard Sandler, J.D., Clinical Professor of Law, College of Law

Willie 'Fred' Mims, Associate Director of Athletics for Student Services and Compliance, Department of Intercollegiate Athletics

Individual Diversity Practitioner Awards

Helen Park Jameson, Office of International Students and Scholars