SEA Change Logo

The University of Iowa has become a charter member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) STEMM Equity Achievement (SEA) Change program. This initiative, which aims to help colleges and universities advance institutional transformation of diversity, equity, and inclusion, aligns with UI’s ongoing strategic planning process, and will provide a mechanism for institutional review, accountability, and evolution in DEI on campus.

The mission of AAAS SEA Change is to inspire, guide, and support the voluntary transformation of diversity, equity, and inclusion in STEMM (science, technology, engineering, math, and medicine) fields. SEA Change member institutions commit to the group’s principles to affirm that creating a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community is a priority.

Barbara Wilson Portrait
The University of Iowa is honored to be the first institution in our state and third from the Big Ten Conference to join AAAS SEA Change as a charter member. As the first public university in the US to admit women and men on an equal basis and regardless of race, our SEA Change membership will continue our journey to provide a more welcoming, inclusive, and accessible experience where all individuals feel valued and respected.

President Barbara Wilson

Timeline for Change

  • Formulation of Change Team and Self Assessment

  • Goal Development

  • Implementation and Self -Assessment, Iteration

  • Continue implementation, assessment; Apply for Bronze Award


Year One: The Change Team

The first step will be creating a “change team” consisting of campus leadership to examine current DEI efforts through the lens of three SEA Change pillars: institute, community, and awards.

The “change team” will produce a comprehensive inventory of all DEI activities and content initiatives, and will review policies, procedures, and programs. The team will also evaluate Campus Climate Survey results to better understand Iowa’s DEI challenges and opportunities. After the evaluation stage, the team will develop a plan to build a more inclusive university community and establish accountability processes for DEI growth over the next three years.  

Iowa’s DEI faculty fellows Maurine Neiman, professor in the Departments of Biology and Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies, and Bradley Cramer, associate professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, will lead this effort with the Office of the Provost.

Maurine Neiman, Professor, Biology
“UI’s successful participation in this program will improve Iowa’s DEI landscape at a cohesive and institutional level,” said Neiman. “Our goal will be to translate this work into increased recruitment and retention of faculty, staff, and students from groups traditionally underrepresented or subject to negative bias or stereotyping in academia.”
Maurine Neiman, Professor in the Departments of Biology and Gender, Women’s, and Sexuality Studies and DEI Faculty Fellow

Help lead our change!

Apply here to serve on the Change Team