Thursday, April 15, 2021

2021 DCA Reception Image for Webpage

The University of Iowa Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion announced its 2021 Diversity Catalyst Award (DCA) winners in advance of the 22nd annual reception slated for April 21, 2021. 

In its 22nd year, the Diversity Catalyst Awards honor University of Iowa students, faculty, staff, programs, departments, and student organizations engaged in DEI initiatives during the previous academic year, promoting an inclusive and diverse campus community.  

The award winners will be honored on April 21 in a virtual online format. Liz Tovar, Executive Officer and Associate Vice President of the Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, will provide a welcome message. Harriet Nembhard, Dean of the College of Engineering, will deliver the keynote address.

The 2021 DCA award recipients are Zahra Alabdulrasul, Monique Antoinette Galpin, Jessica Padilla Solis, Yolanda D. Spears, the International Student Advisory Board (ISAB), and the Native American Council.

The Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Achievement Award was created by Alliant Energy to honor Erroll B. Davis, Jr. and his nearly 30 years of service to the utility industry. They recognize the importance of scholarship and leadership by underrepresented minority students in the state of Iowa.  

This award recognizes academic achievement, leadership in campus and community organizations, and potential for the future career success of rising Seniors in business or engineering. Each student who is selected to receive the award can receive up to $5,000.*

The 2021 Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis, Jr. Achievement Award winners from the University of Iowa are Maria Luz Alcala, Tippie College of Business, and Hieu Nguyen, College of Engineering.

Students, guests, and members of the Iowa City community are welcome to watch the April 21 virtual ceremony by registering to receive a link to the event.  

For all the information about the award reception, the award winners, and the history of the Iowa Diversity Catalyst Awards, please visit the Diversity Catalyst Awards' online home by clicking here.